My Vegan Dog’s Diet

My Vegan’s Dogs Diet

vegetarian_dog

This is not my doggie but I thought it was a cute picture and perfect for this post.

Many people upon discovering that my dogs are vegan somehow think it is abuse or that my dogs are not eating well.  I can assure everyone that my dogs actually eat better than I do at this time.

The best thing about my dogs being vegan is that we are not hurting any animals and also they are not eating dead dogs or cats under the disguise labeling of meat by-products.  What I feed them is based on studying the labels of commercial dog food

My dogs get fed twice a day.  In the morning they get fed a concoction of yam, white sweet potatoes, sweet peas, carrots, tofurky Italian sausage, Nature’s Recipe vegetarian kibble, olive oil, nutritional yeast and cumin.  I buy organic whenever I can.

sweepotayoesSONY DSCtofurkey Italian sausageNatures-Recipe-Soybean-Meal-Vegetarian-e1392182257498-254x328 Boil

I yam

1 white sweet potatoes

3-4 carrots

Mash all that together and  add

about 3/4 cup or 1/2 can sweet peas

This mixture is enough for 2 days for 3 dogs.

I spoon this into each doggie dish and add a sprinkling of nutritional yeast, some cumin.

I take one tofurky sausage divide into 3’s then chop up each piece and place into doggie bowl.

I mix all of this up and then I add 1 cup of dry veggie kibble into each bowl along with about a teaspoon of olive oil and I mix it up again.

It looks something like this.

 DSC03720

When I have not had time to cook the day before I gave them Nature’s Recipe Vegetarian Stew mixed with the sweet peas and the tofurky sausage and about 1 cup of dry kibble per doggie.

natrues recipe can

Now I am not saying this is the best diet in the world.  It is the diet that is working for my doggies at the moment.

I also give them doggie vitamins as well and many healthy treats throughout the day.

Dinner is a different dish but that’s for another post.

Nutritional Value of Sweet Potatoes:

Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz)
Energy 378 kJ (90 kcal)
Carbohydrates 20.7 g
Starch 7.05 g
Sugars 6.5 g
Dietary fiber 3.3 g
Fat 0.15 g
Protein 2.0 g
Vitamin A equiv. 961 μg (120%)
Thiamine (vit. B1) 0.11 mg (10%)
Riboflavin (vit. B2) 0.11 mg (9%)
Niacin (vit. B3) 1.5 mg (10%)
Vitamin B6 0.29 mg (22%)
Folate (vit. B9) 6 μg (2%)
Vitamin C 19.6 mg (24%)
Vitamin E 0.71 mg (5%)
Calcium 38 mg (4%)
Iron 0.69 mg (5%)
Magnesium 27 mg (8%)
Manganese 0.5 mg (24%)
Phosphorus 54 mg (8%)
Potassium 475 mg (10%)
Sodium 36 mg (2%)
Zinc 0.32 mg (3%)

Nutritional Value of Sweet Peas

Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz)
Energy 339 kJ (81 kcal)
Carbohydrates 14.45 g
Sugars 5.67 g
Dietary fiber 5.1 g
Fat 0.4 g
Protein 5.42 g
Vitamin A equiv. 38 μg (5%)
beta-carotene 449 μg (4%)
lutein and zeaxanthin 2477 μg
Thiamine (vit. B1) 0.266 mg (23%)
Riboflavin (vit. B2) 0.132 mg (11%)
Niacin (vit. B3) 2.09 mg (14%)
Vitamin B6 0.169 mg (13%)
Folate (vit. B9) 65 μg (16%)
Vitamin C 40 mg (48%)
Vitamin E 0.13 mg (1%)
Vitamin K 24.8 μg (24%)
Calcium 25 mg (3%)
Iron 1.47 mg (11%)
Magnesium 33 mg (9%)
Manganese 0.41 mg (20%)
Phosphorus 108 mg (15%)
Potassium 244 mg (5%)
Sodium 5 mg (0%)
Zinc 1.24 mg (13%)

Natures Recipe Kibble Nutritional Info:

Ingredients 

Ground Rice, Soybean Meal, Pearled Barley, Canola Oil (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Salt, Dehydrated Carrots, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate [Source of Vitamin C], Inositol, Niacin Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Beta-carotene, Riboflavin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement), Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Iron Proteinate, Copper Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Garlic Oil, Onion Extract, Garlic Powder, Rosemary Extract, Citric Acid (Used as a Preservative).

Guaranteed Analyses
Crude Protein 21.00% min.
Crude Fat 8.00% min.
Crude Fiber 4.40% max.
Moisture 10.00% max.
Iron 100 mg/kg min.
Copper 10 mg/kg min.
Zinc 140 mg/kg min.
Selenium 0.25 mg/kg min.
Vitamin E 100 IU/kg min.
Omega-3 Fatty Acids* 0.60% min.
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* 1.90% min.
Beta-carotene* 2 mg/kg

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.

Nutritional Statement

Nature’s Recipe® Healthy Skin Vegetarian Recipe dog food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

 

Nature’s Recipe Vegetarian Stew Nutritional Info:

Ingredients 

Ground Rice, Soybean Meal, Pearled Barley, Canola Oil (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Calcium Carbonate, Dicalcium Phosphate, Salt, Dehydrated Carrots, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate [Source of Vitamin C], Inositol, Niacin Supplement, Vitamin A Supplement, d-Calcium Pantothenate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Beta-carotene, Riboflavin Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Menadione Sodium Bisulfite Complex, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement), Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Oxide, Iron Proteinate, Copper Sulfate, Copper Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Manganous Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Garlic Oil, Onion Extract, Garlic Powder, Rosemary Extract, Citric Acid (Used as a Preservative).

Guaranteed Analyses
Crude Protein 21.00% min.
Crude Fat 8.00% min.
Crude Fiber 4.40% max.
Moisture 10.00% max.
Iron 100 mg/kg min.
Copper 10 mg/kg min.
Zinc 140 mg/kg min.
Selenium 0.25 mg/kg min.
Vitamin E 100 IU/kg min.
Omega-3 Fatty Acids* 0.60% min.
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* 1.90% min.
Beta-carotene* 2 mg/kg

*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles.

Nutritional Statement

Nature’s Recipe® Healthy Skin Vegetarian Recipe dog food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

Tofurkey Italian Sausage Nutritional Info:

Ingredients: Organic tofu (water, organic soybeans, magnesium chloride, calcium chloride), vital wheat gluten, expeller pressed non-genetically engineered canola oil or hi oleic safflower oil, water, soy sauce (water, non-genetically engineered soybeans, wheat, salt, culture), sun dried tomatoes, textured wheat protein, basil, spices, granulated garlic, salt, chili pepper.

Loading or CancelNutrition FactsServing Size 3.5 oz (100g)
Servings Per Package: 4
Calories 270 Calories from Fat 120

%Daily Value

Total Fat 13g

20%

  Saturated Fat 1.5g

8%

  Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg

0%

Sodium 620mg

25%

Total Carbohydrate 12g

4%

  Dietary Fiber 8g

32%

Sugars 2g
Protein 29g
Vitamin A

6%

Vitamin C

0%

Calcium

4%

Iron

15%

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

Calories

2,000

2,500

Total Fat

less than 65mg

80mg

Saturated Fat

less than 20mg

25mg

Cholesterol

less than 300mg

300mg

Sodium

less than 2400mg

2400mg

Total Carbohydrate

300mg

375mg

Dietary Fiber

25g

30g

5 thoughts on “My Vegan Dog’s Diet

  1. I was able to feed my dogs on a veg or vegan diet in the UK and they just loved one of the (organic) dried complete foods I bought. It was expensive and I can’t find them on the internet so maybe they went out of business.

    In Spain, I did find a veg product but my local suppliers stopped getting it so we are reduced to chicken and rice products 😦 I find commercial dog foods put in far too many animal products and they are too full of protein. I’ve got a great book about products for vegan dogs that you can make yourself, I’ll try and find it for you and give a link or title or whatever.

    My dogs who were on veg meals all lived into their teens with no illnesses during their lifetime.

  2. Hey Ivonne! When I switched Mambo to a vegan kibble and mixed this with peas he started throwing up yellow bile. I switched him back to a meat kibble and peas and he got better. I don’t think it was the vegan diet that was making him throw up, but rather that he just wasn’t getting the nutrients he needed. After doing some research, I put him on the Vegedog diet. I used their products and cooked the meals they recommended. This worked out for a short time, but after a couple of weeks Mambo refused to eat the food with their product on it. I switched him back to meat kibble again. I still want to switch him to a vegan diet, but have been uncertain about what to feed him. I’m gonna try your recipe. Thanks chica! Celeste 🙂

  3. Dogs are fussy. The pups used to gobble up whatever I put in their plate and now they sniff and take their time. For a while there I was putting a little bit of the fish and sweet potato kibble in Missy’s bowl because she was not eating. I think I finally weaned her off of the fish kibble. I do want to find another recipe as well so I can mix it up for them.

Leave a Reply

